It’s a Chinese Thing

its-a-chinese-thing

Image from Steven Lim‘s video, “Restaurant Kid

If you are Chinese and you have a family business going on, then as a child, you have probably been manning your business since you were like, 6 or 7 years old maybe? You know that age when you can finally memorize the multiplication table in Chinese (Hokkien to be exact). I feel like we get to earn our parents’ full trust once we know how to do multiplication.

You see, when I was 6 years old, I was already exposed to the world of business. . . I guess? I started manning our store with less or no supervision most of the time. Having grasped the basic mathematical operations, as I mentioned earlier, my parents kind of had a full of trust on me already. Despite having an older brother, the responsibility of manning the store was always passed down to me whenever my parents had to leave for a bit or had some bills to pay. Yeah, my parents trust me on that, but leave me to lock a room and man, they go apeshit every time they knew I forgot to lock it. Maybe this is why I still don’t have a key to our house.

My mom has been telling me that I’m the only one they’re waiting to graduate so that they could go to my dad’s province and live there for the rest of their lives. I don’t know if it’s true, but the sad thing is, they just don’t know how fucked up I am in college right now. I mean, I thought I was going to excel. *Sigh* We can always dream. Anyway, I have always thought that being the one who knew more on how the store worked, I had always assumed that it was going to be passed down to me. You know the typical Chinese generation to generation stuff. My mom never mentioned anything about the store’s future once they would go to the province. What she does know is that, neither my brother and I are interested in continuing it because both of us are too lazy. Another is, no matter how small a business can be, I believe if she ever wanted me to pursue it, she would have forced me to take up a degree in Accountancy or Business Administration and not Computer Science or Industrial Engineering and most of all, Fine Arts. I’m pretty sure my parents were so worried I planned on having Fine Arts as a career because they probably have thought that I’m going to end up in the streets holding a sign like this:

screenshot_4

Image from Domics‘s video, “Ambition

I’m just a bit happy, I guess, that my parents aren’t the super traditional Chinese family. I’m glad I get to do what I want. (Well, maybe because I oppose almost everything they want me to do.) I am going to be an industrial or environmental engineer. I am going to be an environmentalist. I don’t really care if they say I’m different from the rest of my family. This is who I am and this is who I want to be.

Leave a Reply

